nuke the site from orbit

Video games, horror movies..

I’d buy that for a dollar!

 

I have been spending the last few nights getting comfortable with Diablo III finally and quite enjoying myself even if it is a ‘thin’ game when it comes to story and content… I just enjoy smashing the hell out of stuff ultimately.  The funny thing is that during the downtime with the server issues I have also been replaying an old favorite of mine, Marvel Ultimate Alliance.

For those that never played MUA it is basically a similar title to the older X-Men Legends series of games.  Pick a team of four heroes and battle through level after level of villains on your way to several boss fights.  Simple and easy.  The real joy though in MUA was in the vast amount of unlockable content the game offered.  Players could purchase new heroes such from the Marvel universe to play as, alternate costumes for their unlocked heroes, special abilities to use in combat or increase their existing abilities.  Add to that side missions such as the story levels for each hero to play thru alone and MUA was quite the enjoyable time sink.

So as I was playing Diablo III I was thinking to myself that while I love DC Universe Online, Marvel might do well to go the different route for their planned MMO.  I know they have slowly been releasing concept art of the heroes that will be playable in the game, but today was the first real news bit I have seen about the MMO that gives me a clear idea of what they are doing… and it sounds quite fun.

Check out the brand new teaser trailer that also includes a few seconds of combat!  


The official press release can be found here.

Simply put the game will utilize a F2P model in which players will play as their favorite heroes throughout various locations in the Marvel Universe.  Locations such as Manhattan and Xavier’s Institute will serve as social hubs in which players will interact with other players and collect missions.  Mention is made of constructing each heroes costumes out of their rich history, collecting all kinds of other items and choosing which powers to use as the way to make your hero unique.

Another reason that I found this ironic is I have to admit that I had no idea the David Brevik was the driving force behind Marvel Heroes.  Brevik is of course the co-founder of Blizzard North which created Diablo and Diablo II.  His influence is quite apparent in the teaser trailer above.

I for one can not wait to start spending countless hours unlocking all my favorite characters from the Marvel Universe… Spider-Man and Punisher here I come!

Single Post Navigation

2 thoughts on “I’d buy that for a dollar!

  1. Avaloner on said:

    Marvel Heroes got me excited as well, although I am not entirely sure how an action RPG will work within an MMO framework. At the very least they had the good sense not to go down the monthly subscription route. Nowadays and MMO really needs to earn the right for a monthly subscription and from what I have seen and read so far this is not a game that warrants it.

    • I think the decision to go F2P from the very beginning signals that they are going with a casual approach to their title. Marvel Heroes sounds like a drop in and smash things title more so then a traditional MMO world, and honestly I am perfectly ok with that.

Leave a Reply

